X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• gear reduction unit

Does the gear reduction unit require filling separately on the QT case? Whats the correct procedure for shifting between 4 hi and 4 lo and also using the E drive switch?

hi bullzeye....

I believe the transfer case gets about two quarts in one fill hole. and there is another fill hole for the low range reduction unit. It gets about a pint...

So yes, seperate I believe but Im just starting out like you on this quadratrac stuff

Comment

hey bullz... go read this post an look at the pics. This guy is the Qaudratrac guru.

http://www.ifsja.org/forums/vb/showthread.php?t=138154

Comment

low-range is filled separately. You put approximately 2 quarts in the main case, then add a quart into the low-range.

Comment

Thanks, the tear down wasn't to bad it went pretty quick, the old chain had a lot of slack in it, I think I need some new bearings also, but as far as taking it apart it was pretty straight forward. The guy that worked on this case before sealed the drain hole between the two seals that butt each other with RTV! It was all over the inside of the case too.

Comment

I took mine for the same thing an he filled up transfer case but did not loosen reduction unit an drain an fill. So now I got to drain reduction unit an refill everything I guess. Dang mechanics

Comment

Bullseye. Did u have access to a lift or did it on the ground?

Comment

I jacked it up on some jack stands on each axle all four sides and dropped everything out, jeep was off the ground about 4 inches used a jack to hold the tyranny (rebuilt the 400 also) up in place and then had some one help me lift the TC in it was a pretty quick process. I had plenty of room to work. I thought I would have to drop the tank but it cleared. It was close though.

Comment