X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Radiator / Tranny line Q

Hello, I'm completely new to tranny cooling and have a few questions. I just got the aluminum radiator / tranny cooler with electric fan. I have a late model heavy duty 700R4 auto transmission.

Where do the lines connnect on the transmission, and does it matter which way I configure the lines into the transmission from the radiator (e.g. top and bottom lines)?

What size are the lines and fittings? What type of line should I be using, stock cooling lines won't fit, so I am assuming I'll need flexible steel lines, no one around here seems to carry anything, any ideas where I can get lines and fittings?

Is there a specific fluid I should be using when I cool the tranny? Is the tranny cooler a sperate closed system inside the radiator?

thanks for any help.

On the 700R4, the bottom fitting on the right is the "out" line to the cooler and the top fitting is for the return line from the cooler. Lines are, as I recall, 3/8". From the trans forward, I usually use hard-lines that I bend, or sometimes I'll use braided flex lines. If braided flex lines, you can run those all the way up to the cooler. If hard-lines, you can run them up front, then use a rubber line and clamps to allow for flex, then connect the other end to brass fittings on the cooler.

Also, on aluminum radiators, NEVER use teflon tape, ALWAYS use teflon paste. The tape can bind up and ruin the threads.

For the fluid, regular ATF is barely adequate, but there are better fluids out there if you do some searching. For the cooler, if you are talking about our Crossflow radiator, the internal cooler is a separate system build into the radiator (ie: the fluids never mix).

Comment

Tks for the reply do you know what size fittings I need to buy for the radiator.

the radiator looks like it was all connected with the trans cooler which left me baffled tks for clearing that up.

Comment